God’s Delight

Zephaniah 3:17
The LORD your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.

For years I felt invisible, a scared little girl. Who people would not see me and abandoned me. I felt ugly because of my dark skin and because a relative has/is makes feel that way. I felt that if I open my heart to someone that they would crush it. In a way I wanted to be in people’s lives but then I didn’t want them to be in my life. I felt used, and abandoned by most people. I often said to myself who would care for a person such as me?

Then one day I hear this: You are God’s daily delight. He delights in you! Wow God can love a messed up, scared little girl, who wants love and attention. How can he delight in such a person? I mean it just seem so unbalanced. Yet what I was thinking was unbalanced. I often thought I was to delight in the Lord and then I would get want I want which was to be loved and healed. Truth I am loved and healed because the Lord takes delight in me. I can blossom under His love and tender care because he takes delight in me.

When you take delight in something you take great care of it. Like a new relationship, a new pet, a new plant whatever it is, you take good/great care of it. It is the same with the Lord that he takes delight in us that he takes great care for us. He may remove us out of a relationship because it was unhealthy, removed you from a job, or he may give us the most thrilling love that you ever know, or a great job that seems tailor made for you because he loves you and wants to see you do well.

At times it may not seem that he cares or delights in you. You may feel abandoned, you may feel the weight of a hardship, a weight of a sin, but that doesn’t mean that he still is not taking delight in you. It just means that you may need to lean into him more. For example I have a crazy cat, which I take delight in, but I admit sometimes because where I have to place her food and water that I forget to refill it. My cat will come to me and tap me on my arm, and making me pet her, I remembered wait did I check on your water bowl before I left! It may be the same with God, that why we pray and ask like the persistent widow (Luke 18:1-8) just to say hey Lord I’m here don’t you see what I’m going through! Just like my cat when I get up and fill her water bowl she is happy, so are we when we listen to what our Father says about our situation. He remembers and do, because he takes delight in you!

For me my feelings of unworthiness disappear when I remember that God takes delight in me. Even last night when I felt like an abandoned scared little girl curled up, God said to me that I was no longer that but a redeemed woman, who is the bride of Christ, a jewel in his crown, so stand tall and gather into my arms. Wow! Amazing! He said that because it is truth and I’m his delight!

Think about it, if you weren’t God’s daily delight, he wouldn’t have sent his son down here to earth to die for you. He wouldn’t care about how you are feeling, what you are doing, how you are making it through the tough times. But because He takes delight in you so much that He sent down His son Jesus Christ to die for you. Because He takes delight in you He sent down His Holy Spirit to dwell in you, to guide you, to comfort you, to listen to you, and to counsel you. Because He takes delight in you, he find ways to show His love for you on a daily basis (but are you looking for it). Because He takes delight in you he gathers you to his side and just love, love and love upon you, no matter where you are at in your walk with him!

You are God’s Great delight! Take joy and live in that truth today!

 

Leave a Reply

