A Good Gift!! What??

God did not give you a spirit of fear but the power of love and a sound mind 2Timothy 1:7

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. James 1:17

Can I tell you how many times I have been rejected? I’ve been rejected by jobs (fired and never hired), rejected by my father (who now has accepted me), rejected by an ex-boyfriend (who cheated on me multiple times). Can you see the negative patterns? I have a fear of being rejected, yet God does not give us the spirit of fear but the power and love of a sound mind (2 Timothy 1:7).  God doesn’t dole out fear but gifts, and love, and grace.

Three years ago I was let go from a job that I really did enjoy. I knew that the company finances were not looking good and because I didn’t have a car I knew it was a matter of time before they let me go. I was right they did let me go, but what I didn’t know that they had hired someone else to do what I was doing who had a car! I was hurt. I knew that God had something bigger and better in store for me. As I struggled to find employment I would go onto interviews make it to the last round then not get the job. I was discouraged, I had no hope, and I was depressed. I could not see the light at the end of the tunnel.

God took me on a journey where I had to trust him to rely on His strength and not my own. In fact in June 2012 I learned that the joy of the Lord is my strength, I went through the month learning to find joy in the Lord and I gained strength.

Finally in January 2012 a break through happened. I was hired by a great company and it was a whirlwind! I had applied for the job because I needed my quota for the week. I knew that I was qualified but I was sure I wouldn’t even get a call. A week later I get the phone interview with the recruiter, then the day after I had the phone interview with my boss (current), the next day we had the face-face interview, and by the end of the interview I had the job. My current job is perfect for me. It was like God created the job just for me. Every good and perfect gift is from above (James 1:17)

Despite of the fear, despite of what the Devil tried to steal from me God was working. He was preparing a place for me that He knew that would fit me and my skills. I had to be patient, I had to get out of my comfort zone, but most importantly I had to trust God.

To live life beyond the fear is to trust God and be strengthened by God. To trust God you must seek him out. To be strengthened by God you must find joy in what He is doing. You must allow him to work through you.

This is something I have to do on a consent basis, especially right now as I am entering into a new friendship and it scares me. I feel like I am in another whirlwind but then the doubt, when the fear rears it’s ugly head. I have to remember that my trust is in the Lord that He is allowing this new friendship and it’s a good thing whatever may happen.  Kind of  like with my job it is scary because it’s not fully secured or assured but I trust that God knows exactly what He is doing and it is a good thing.

What are you struggling with today? What fears and doubts are you plaguing you today? Turn to the Lord give it to him, and trust him.

Dear Heavenly Father,

I may not understand what is fully going on in my life right now. I have to admit that I am scared and unsure what steps I should take. I place my trust in you, I place my strength in you. I give to you my situation and let go. Fill me with your peace and love this day.

In Jesus Name Amen.

Leave a Reply

