Answering the Call

There I was serving food to the poor, hungry, and homeless at the Northwest Life Church in Elma, WA. I look at a boy whom I just served food too. I felt a nudge in my spirit as I saw the boy eating alone, I’m looking around to see if any of the youth students who I was with would sit with him and talk to him. Finally I was released to get food and sit down. I sat down next to the boy I whom I was looking at. His name is Devin, he is 10 years old. From our conversation he loved Taylor Swift and soccer so I had invited him to the soccer camp that my youth group was leading. He did not show that day. He did show up the next day with his older brother in tow. His brother heard the gospel that day. The next day was the day we were planning to share the gospel boldly. I saw Devin again at the Northwest Life Church with more of his siblings and his sister Chole whom clung to me. She also showed up for soccer camp as well. Well that evening as we invited people to pray Devin was one who prayed to receive Christ and boy you could tell just a light in him. The next day his sister Chole received Christ. What would have happened if I didn’t listen to the Holy Spirit invitation to go and sit next to Devin?

A part of God’s plan in our life is that He invites us in to do something along side of him. Yes it can be scary but yet worth it. Peter Lord said this “The worst thing you can do the quickest way to become insensitive is to ignore an impression. So you must commit yourself to listening to your Lord for the purpose of responding to what He says and you must not allow yourself to hear without responding.” This is very true. How many times have opportunities been missed because of fear, because you can’t trust that feeling?

When you take the risk of responding it is amazing to see what can happen! I had a friend who had worked for a Christian organization. She was given the assignment to check out how people communicate on social media and one of the sites that they wanted her to check out was EHarmony. She bulked and laugh at that suggestion. After praying about it she felt God saying yes. She actually met her husband on EHarmony! Now she is about to have her 2nd child. What would have happened if she said no to the invitation?

There is a fear that I’m wrong, or the job is too hard. Or maybe you question God like this am I really ready to handle this, to take this on, why me LORD. In Ephesians 2:10 it says: For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good work which God prepared in advance for us to do.  That you are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good work that God prepared you for in advance! Isn’t that amazing that God does not throw you to the wolves that he takes his time in preparing you. He will let you know what you need to do.

I think about Mary mother of Jesus right here. Gabriel came and told her what was about to happen giving her the invitation. Mary reply was I am the LORD servant your will. God could have just sprung it on her she would woke up pregnant and then he could have said that’s my child! No he prepared her for what she was about to become and do.

God loves us He doesn’t scare us much except when He ask us to do things outside of our comfort zone. Yet when you say yes doesn’t the feeling of fear goes away and you have a sound mind.

God is an invitational voice; He is not going to give you more than what you can handle. The invitation will come just in time when you are ready to do the work, the task, the love, the serving whatever it is. It will come in God’s time. God will invite you into a relationship that will lead to marriage. God will invite you to apply to a specific job that you don’t think you are qualified for. God will invite you to speak with a friend about His son Jesus. God will invite. The question is will you say yes.

The prophet Isaiah wrote; that he heard the voice of the LORD saying Whom shall I send? And who will go for us? Now that is a huge invitation. Yet Isaiah replied Here I am send me! He was bold and humbled to accept and answer the invitation that God sent.

What is God inviting you to do today? Is God calling you to say yes to a certain relationship? Is God calling out to you today to reach   out to a friend that you haven’t seen in a long time? Is God calling you to serve in an area that you are not familiar with? Whatever He is calling you today, you can respond with yes Lord I will do.

One thought on “Answering the Call

Leave a Reply

